logo
 
 
RELEASE 033 - PAL / NO REGIONAL CODE - 28.80 €

Shipping costs Worldwide:
1 DVD: € 6,-
every further DVD: € 2,-

<< previous | next >>
033
MARIA LASSNIG - Animation Films

Lassnig trained at the academy of Fine Arts, Vienna, and then spent several years in Paris in the 1950s and 60s, where she was exposed to Art Informel and Surrealism. From 1968 to 1980, she lived in New York, where she did pioneering work in film, producing a series of remarkably inventive animations all presented by INDEX for the first time on DVD.
Drawing on some of the same themes and subjects as her paintings, the narratives are profound and astute observations of the complexities of male-female relationships and of the experience of being both a woman and an artist. Her most celebrated film - Kantate - was produced later, in 1992, when Lassnig was 73. It presents her life story in a 14-verse song performed by the artist in a variety of costumes and accompanied by animations that are filled with humour and wit.
The work resisted any art-historical categorization, with Lassnig remaining independent from any particular art movement, and yet it has consistently engaged with successive generations of artists. While she is mainly celebrated in Austria and Germany, the significance of Lassnig´s work has been increasingly recognised through greater exposure in exhibitions worldwide.
(Serpentine Gallery catalogue - excerpt)


033

BAROQUE STATUES 1970-74, 15 min, IRIS 1971, 10 min, CHAIRS 1971, 2 min, SELFPORTRAIT 1971, 4:30 min, SHAPES 1972, 9 min, COUPLES 1972, 9 min, PALMISTRY 1973, 10 min, ART EDUCATION 1976, 8 min, MARIA LASSNIG KANTATE / The Ballad of Maria Lassnig 1992, 8 min
back to Overview add to cart      Biography

logo
 
 
DVD 033 - PAL / KEIN REGIONALCODE - 28.80 €

Versandkosten Weltweit:
1. DVD: € 6,-
jede weitere DVD: € 2,-

<< Voriges | Nächstes >>
033
MARIA LASSNIG - Animation Films

Nach dem Studium an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien lebte Maria Lassnig in den 1950er und 1960er Jahren in Paris, wo sie von informeller Kunst und Surrealismus umgeben war. Zwischen 1968 und 1980 lebte sie in New York, wo ihr bahnbrechendes Filmschaffen entstand. Diese besonders einfallsreichen Animationen sind jetzt erstmals bei INDEX auf DVD versammelt.

Wie auch in ihrer Malerei beschäftigt sie sich in tiefsinnigen und raffinierten Geschichten mit der Komplexität der Mann-Frau Beziehung und den Erfahrungen des Frau- und Künstlerinnen Daseins. Ihr berühmtester Film - Maria Lassnig Kantate - entstand 1992 im Alter von 73 Jahren. Darin präsentiert sie ihre Lebensgeschichte in einem 14 strophigem Lied, das die Künstlerin selbst in unterschiedlichten Kostümen vorträgt und mit humorvollen und lustigen Animationen illustriert.

Ihre Arbeit widersetzt sich der kunstgeschichtlichen Kategorisierung, blieb Lassnig immer unabhängig von allen Kunstströmungen. Gleichzeitig stand sie immer im Dialog mit nachkommenden Künstlerinnen-Generationen. Obwohl sie hauptsächlich in Österreich und Deutschland bekannt ist, wurde in den letzten Jahren vermehrt die Bedeutung ihrer Arbeit in internationalen Ausstellungen anerkannt.

033


BAROQUE STATUES 1970-74, 15 min, IRIS 1971, 10 min, CHAIRS 1971, 2 min, SELFPORTRAIT 1971, 4:30 min, SHAPES 1972, 9 min, COUPLES 1972, 9 min, PALMISTRY 1973, 10 min, ART EDUCATION 1976, 8 min, MARIA LASSNIG KANTATE / The Ballad of Maria Lassnig 1992, 8 min
Zurück zur Übersicht
DVD kaufen
    
Biografie